Memorials Of The Great War
War Memorial Of The Month - October 2016
Abinger Common, Surrey
click on the images to enlarge
To protect and promote the spirit and substance of the work of Sir Edwin Lutyens OM
The memorial in the hamlet of Abinger Common has a strong personal connection with the Lewin family who, although not previous clients of Lutyens, would have known of the architect through the local house, Goddards (now owned by the Lutyens Trust and let on a long lease to the Landmark Trust), which was designed by the architect in the late 1890s. Margaret Lewin paid for the initial cross in memory of her son Charles, who died in 1919 and, when it was destroyed by a Flying Bomb in 1944, the replacement was dedicated in memory of her and her daughter by her descendants. The builders of the original memorial were H T Jenkins and Sons of Torquay and the cost was £190.
The sculpted sword on the face of the memorial is unique amongst Lutyens’s similar memorials of this type. It replicates the sword found on the Cross of Sacrifice in Commonwealth War Cemeteries and dates from the replacement.
Location: Church of St James, Abinger Common, Surrey, RH5 6HZ